Post Numero Dos, or: Hi, I’m Stephanie!

I just wrote down the title and thought, “Well, that’s something I hate saying in real life: ‘Hi, I’m Stephanie!'” Ugh. Maybe I should consider wearing a name tag all the time.

Following Mel’s lead, I thought I’d take this opportunity – our second post – to introduce myself and muse about what I want my half of the writing team to bring to this blog. Mel and I share a lot of the same goals for this special little place on the Internet, and she said a lot of great stuff last week that I won’t be able to top (and if I tried it would just be redundant) so let’s consider this post my take on things.

I got a text from Mel sometime in September, after I’d spent a few days visiting my family and friends in Montreal, when she and I had had a quasi-argument about Lena Dunham. Her text said something like, “So, I’ve got this crazy idea…” and I trusted that it was crazy, because neither Mel nor I are big texters so when we text it’s usually pretty important. I was intrigued, and when she told me what she wanted to do, I was totally on board. Hence, after gestating for several months, as blogs do, The Feminine Perspective was born!

I’ll admit I tried – and failed – to blog a few years ago with a book review blog that I affectionately called “Metapoetica,” a name I still hold close to my heart and hope will never be stolen from me. I hope that working on this with another person, and one that I love and respect, no less, will hold me accountable and keep the blog alive.

I love writing. I usually feel totally unmotivated to do it (and let’s be real, most things – I’m very talented at being lazy) but I get a great deal of satisfaction from moving words around, trying out new ones, and using them to attempt to get to the crux of an idea. I mean, I have spent at least 1/5 of my life regularly reading and writing essays. That’s what happens when you work toward degrees in English and theatre. And I’ll admit that as happy as I am to be done my Master’s, I do kind of miss writing. So, here we are!

I guess given the scope of The Feminine Perspective, that this would be called a “lifestyle blog.” I’m not sure how I feel about labelling us just yet, but hey! I hope to use this space to discuss anything in the media, on our minds, and on our plates. Most of all, though, what I really want to do is generate discussion. As we keep writing, I really hope to get the comments section going – I want to hear what all of you think about the things we write. I also hope to engage critically with a whole bunch of meta-discussions within the wider world of the Interwebz (lol) to make this a relevant, fun and engaging place to be.

To start, I’d like to let you all in on some of my goals for 2016. I prefer saying goals to resolutions since resolutions seem like mythical unicorn things that will magically happen. They won’t. Goals, I have to work toward. And that’s scary, but also exciting! But mostly scary.

  1. Yoga every darn day! I’ve already been good at this one. I’m doing a home practice challenge with a YouTube yogi I follow, and I’ve only missed 2 out of 20 days so far. I feel much better on days that I practice. If you want to join me, go to Yoga Camp with Yoga with Adriene!
  2. Improve my diet. I’m not being crazy here; I know I’m not ready to give up burgers and my favourite indulgences. Have I mentioned yet how much I love ice cream? But I want more home made food in my future. I haven’t made so much progress on this one, but I have made a few big batches of random stuff in the past couple of weeks. Anyone got tips on cooking for one, on an irregular schedule?
  3. Find motivation. I’m not quite sure how to start this one yet. I think it has a lot to do with my career, now that I’m officially done earning degrees. 2016 looks good so far. I’m the Artistic Director of an independent theatre company, I’m working on a great show in Montreal starting next week, and I’ve got a few potentially important meetings booked. I just have to keep the ball rolling!

Of course, consistent writing is also a goal, and the blog is helping with that already. I’m sure as the months go on I’ll find more things I want to improve, but the overarching goal seems to be to feel a little bit more fulfilled, and a little less anxious. Hopefully, coupled with the things I already do, like journaling and reading for pleasure, I’ll be feeling pretty good by the end of the year!

So, here’s to 2016 being a banner year, blog and all! What are you all looking forward to this year? What have you already accomplished in 2016? Tell me! I want to know!

Signing off,

Stephanie

2 thoughts on “Post Numero Dos, or: Hi, I’m Stephanie!

  1. Congrats on your first blog! I think this is a wonderful idea. Despite having done our MA together I actually haven’t read much of your work. This will be a good way for me to catch up 🙂

    I like the fact that you call them “goals” rather than resolutions – it’s less intimidating. I want to start cooking more but it’s hard when I’m always on the go. I’m proud of your for keeping up the yoga, lady. I finally signed up for a membership at Hart House..It’s great for cardio but it would be nice to keep yoga in my weekly practice as well.

    Looking forward to the next blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

