Quarter of a Century

Hello beautiful people!

I’ve tried writing this post several times, trying to figure out what exactly I wanted to say and also trying to work through my feelings about turning 25 (so bear with me, please). To most people, turning 25 is either an exciting time or just another birthday, for me, 25 was always a pivotal age where big things would start happening and life would officially become official. This official-ness of being 25 is a scary thing, you are officially an adult responsible for yourself and it’s usually the time when your life sort of finds it’s steady state. Most people have a career path already paved, if not paved then at least discovered and in progress, most people are living on their own, in committed relationships, and having grand adventures.  For some, like myself who haven’t yet found their path, who still rely heavily on their parents, who are still single and haven’t had many adventures, it’s a daunting thing being an adult (Note: I am not saying that this is everyone’s reality nor is it THE reality, it’s just things I’ve noticed in my world). When I take a step back and reflect on what I’ve written here (which I’ve done for days), although these feelings are very much real it’s a negative way to look at this blessing. And it is a blessing that I reached this age, I am healthy, happy and I still have so much life to live. I have to remind myself that within this fear there is a blessing and a lesson.

I truly believe that within every negative experience there is a lesson and something to be grateful for. I think with turning 25, I became obsessed with comparison and perfectionism in terms of where I thought I should be compared to other people in my world. I constantly have to remind myself that I am on my own path, that even if I don’t have a set career path, I am still on a path and it is mine. It can’t be compared to somebody else’s just like somebody else’s can’t be compared to mine. As long as I focus on the future  and keep moving forward toward my goals, that is enough. I think it’s important to remind ourselves of that fact, whether it’s your birthday or not, that as long as we keep moving, keep working, keep trying to achieve some of our goals, that is enough and you are enough. And like I’ve said in other posts, I am constantly working on accepting the fact that I am imperfect and that means that my life is imperfect and that’s okay. It’s also important to remind yourself that everyday that you get to wake up and live, that is a blessing. I have been given 25 years and that is amazing when you take the time to think about it, and I am healthy and happy and there is no reason to be fearful of that.

I think when we can change our mindsets on things, like growing up and becoming a responsible adult we open the doors for great things to enter. I think instead of focusing on the fear of this responsibility, I need to focus my energy on goals, on figuring out who I am and what I want out of this life. To focus on myself, to work on myself, to become a better a person who can offer more love and kindness and compassion to the world. To focus on this blog and all the wonderful possibilities it offers. To focus on the positive relationships in my life, my relationships with my family and my friends. I think when we shift our perspectives and our energy to positive things, it not only makes life easier but it makes life worth living and enjoying, which is the whole point after all.

Much love,

-M

Leave a Reply

