Love Will Always Win, Remember That

I sit here trying to find the words to express the tumultuous emotions I feel right now and the reality is is that there are no words. There are no words to express or explain or make sense of the things happening in our world. There are no words to express the emotions you feel when another human being chooses to kill another human being over something so human like loving someone who just happens to be of the same sex. There are no words to explain or make sense of something so senseless. I sit here and all I feel is fear and sadness and anger and confusion, I ask myself how did we get here? How did we as human beings get here? To the point where it’s acceptable to kill one another, to judge one another, to condemn another being for choosing to love? It makes no sense to me. It will never make any sense to me. I sit here debating whether writing this is a good idea, whether it will do any good, hoping it won’t make things worse. But, as I sit here I realize that there is a power in words, there is a power in expression and I feel like this is an important message to share. If you don’t feel the same way or aren’t interested in what I am writing about then I ask you kindly to not read this and to move on to something that does interest you.

Today is a hard day for me. It’s a hard day for anyone who has felt like an outsider, who felt like they never belonged because they were different. Whether it be ethnicity, gender, religion, weight/body shape, sexual orientation or simply because you don’t fit the mould that society has deemed acceptable and appropriate. It’s a hard day when you wake up to hear that someone (yet again) has chosen to take innocent lives. When I woke up this morning and heard about what happened in Orlando when a man walked into a gay club and killed innocent souls who were simply living and being, it broke my heart and made me question the state of humanity. It seems like everyday you turn on the news to hear of more senseless killings whether it be in a school, on the street, in a church, in the City of Love and countless other places that have long been forgotten. It devastates me that this is what we have come to and I’ve debated for some time whether I should write about these acts that keep on happening, and shamefully out of fear I’ve avoided expressing myself. Today though, something was different, this event for whatever reason, affected me so deeply I felt I had no choice but to say something. At the core of all of these events that have happened over the past decade lies this idea of judgment. We as human beings have allowed ourselves to become judgment machines. We are all guilty of it. We see something or hear something that we don’t quite understand and we immediately jump to judging it without even trying to learn about it or understand it. I’ve definitely been guilty of it. However, it’s how we to choose to act and react to this judgment that defines us. We can choose to stay ignorant, naive and close minded. We can choose to stay angry and react in a violent and senseless manner. Or we can rise above it. We can choose to educate ourselves, we can choose to open our minds and our hearts. We can choose to place ourselves in other people’s shoes and try to understand where they may be coming from. We can choose to react with love, compassion, kindness and with understanding. What many don’t understand is that there is a power in love, a power that is much greater than the hate that these individuals choose to express. The world will not remember these people who react with hate, they will remember those who were innocent, those who were loved and who were love personified.

My greatest wish for this world is that we as a human race can evolve to a place where judgment is beneath us. Where people who are different, who are weird are accepted and considered acceptable and more than that “normal”. I yearn for the day when we no longer have to label ourselves so that people who don’t understand us can finally understand us. I pray for the day when we no longer react to things we don’t understand with violence but with conversation, with awareness, with love and most of all with understanding and respect. I pray for all the beautiful souls who have left this Earth too soon because someone deemed it their right to take a life. I pray that these souls find peace wherever they may be. More than that, I pray that we as a human race can rise above, that we don’t allow these hateful people to leave us with fear in our hearts but rather leave a love in our hearts that is so strong that nothing can break us. To anyone out there who is weird, or different, or simply a human being who is trying to thrive in this life, I want you to know that your life is worth something, that you are worthy and that no matter who tries to break you, always keep love in your heart. Nothing can break you if you have love and compassion. There is nothing more powerful than that.

With so much love and pride for the weird, the different and the undefinable,

-Melanie

Leave a Reply

